LightExp
Plug in Hanging Light Kit, Retro Hanging Lights with Plug in Cord, E26 E27 Industrial
Plug in Hanging Light Kit, Retro Hanging Lights with Plug in Cord, E26 E27 Industrial
Couldn't load pickup availability
Two-Pack Plug-In Pendant Cord Kit with 9.8-Foot Cords and On/Off Switch
The plug-in hanging light kit is a pair of 9.8-foot pendant cords for DIY projects, rentals, and small fit-outs that need a light hung from a hook rather than wired into a ceiling. Each cord ends in a standard E26/E27 socket rated to 60W, with the on/off switch set 2 feet from the plug and 7.8 feet from the socket, and the kit includes four ceiling hooks and four cord hooks to route both runs.
Add your own shade or leave the lamp bare: the kit is deliberately unstyled, which is what lets it work with a wire cage, a woven shade, or nothing at all. The cord insulation is flame-retardant and heat resistant, and the whole assembly plugs into a standard outlet, so no electrician is involved and nothing has to be patched when it comes down.
Specifications
| Dimensions | 9.8 ft cord per kit; switch 2.0 ft from the plug and 7.8 ft from the socket |
|---|---|
| Materials | Flame-retardant, heat-resistant insulated cord with E26/E27 socket; white |
| Light Source | 1 × E26/E27 base bulb per cord, 60W maximum (bulbs not included) |
| Color Temperature | Not specified — set by the bulb you choose |
| Dimming | Not dimmable — in-line on/off switch only |
| Power Method | Plug-in (4 ceiling hooks and 4 cord hooks included) |
| Voltage | 110–130V |
| Switch | In-line on/off switch on the cord |
| IP Rating | Not rated |
| Certifications | CE |
| Color Options | White |
| Net Weight | Not specified |
Product Schema
Design Story
A cord kit is the opposite of a finished fixture, and that is its value. The socket, the switch, and the length are fixed; everything else — shade, bulb, position — stays with the person installing it. For a rental or a temporary space, that means lighting can be added without any work that has to be undone.
The switch position is the detail worth studying. At 2 feet from the plug and 7.8 feet from the socket, it lands at hand height once the cord runs down a wall to an outlet near the floor, so the light is controlled without reaching for the socket itself. The cord is rated for heat as well as flame retardance, which matters because the socket end sits directly above the lamp and carries whatever warmth the bulb gives off.
LIGHTEXP supplies the two cords with four ceiling hooks and four cord hooks, enough to route both runs properly rather than draping them, and keeps the socket to the standard E26/E27 medium base so any common bulb fits. The 60W ceiling covers LED, energy-saving, and incandescent lamps, and the CE certification covers the cord and switch assembly as a unit.
Where It Works Best
Living room corner, made from scratch. This is the kit's real use: an empty corner above a chair or a plant that needs a light and has no ceiling box. Screw in a ceiling hook, run the cord across to a cord hook at the wall, drop the socket to about 60 inches from the floor, and choose a shade that suits the room — a wire cage for industrial, a linen drum for something softer. The Lighting Design Guides cover cord routing and safe hook placement.
Bedroom, a matching pair over the nightstands. Two cords in one pack is the useful quantity here: hang one on each side of the bed at the same height and the room gains symmetry that a single lamp cannot give, with both switches within reach from the pillow. Use a warm bulb near 2700K and a small shade so the light stays local. With painted timber bedsides and cotton bedding, the white cord disappears against a light wall. The Design Inspiration & Ideas section shows pairs hung over bedsides.
Stall, café, or temporary dining space. For a market stall, a pop-up, or a café corner, the kit is cheap enough to be semi-permanent and quick enough to rig before a trading day: hooks in the ceiling, two drops over the counter, one switch each. Because it plugs in, it packs away at the end of the day. If you are fitting a permanent space as well, the Full Lighting Collection lists hardwired alternatives. Check the outlet distance before you rig.
Frequently Asked Questions
How is the kit installed, and what tools does it need?
Installation is a screwdriver for the ceiling and cord hooks, hanging the cord, and screwing in a bulb; all hardware and instructions are included, and no wiring is involved. The cord length can be adjusted along the run rather than cut, so the kit can be reused elsewhere. If you are fixing into plasterboard, use an anchor rated for the load instead of screwing into the board itself.
What bulbs fit, and can it be dimmed?
The socket accepts standard E26 and E27 medium-base bulbs up to 60W, covering LED, energy-saving, and incandescent types; bulbs are not included, so brightness and colour are your choice. This cord has an on/off switch and no dimmer, so there is no dimmer to match. If you want dimming, use a bulb with a built-in dimming function or add a plug-in dimmer rated above the bulb's wattage.
How long is the cord, and how should I position the switch?
Each cord is 9.8 feet total, split as 7.8 feet from the socket to the switch and 2 feet from the switch to the plug. Hang the hook so the socket reaches the height you want, then run the cord along the ceiling and down the wall so the switch lands at roughly hand height by the outlet. Keep the run away from doorways and anything that generates heat.
How do I look after the cord and socket?
Unplug before handling and let the bulb cool. Wipe the cord with a dry cloth and check periodically along its length for cracking or stiffness, particularly near the socket where heat collects. Keep the cord away from water and out of damp rooms, and never exceed 60W, since the insulation rating is tied to that limit. Store the kit coiled loosely rather than tightly folded.
How long does delivery take, and how is it packed?
Orders are processed within 3–5 business days, and standard delivery takes 7–15 business days. The two cords ship in protective foam-in-box packaging with tracking provided, coiled and bagged with the hooks separated so nothing tangles or scuffs in transit.
What are the return and warranty terms?
Returns are accepted within 30 days on unused items in original packaging, so keep the carton until both cords are rigged and working. The 24-month warranty covers structural components and the light module, which here means the cord, socket, switch, and plug assembly; bulbs and any shade you add are separate purchases and are not covered.
Share
